About Us

The Azerbaijan Energy Regulatory Agency, AERA, was established on 22 December 2017. 

The Agency is a public legal entity established under the Ministry of Energy in accordance with the Presidential Decree №1750.

It was formed on the basis of the State Energy Control Administration and the State Gas Control Administration of the Ministry of Energy. The assets and liabilities of the abolished bodies were passed to the Agency.    

The Agency regulates the utility sectors - electricity, natural gas and district heating in Azerbaijan. 

Amendments were made to the Law on Energy, the Law on Electricity, the Law on Gas Supply and the Law on Power and Heating Stations.

It paved the legal way for certain state entities for making payments to the Agency with reference to the legislation. The Ministry of Energy defined the rules of payments and approved the staff list and recurrent expenditures of the Agency as per the Order of the Minister №26 dated 1 March 2018.

 The Agency started its functional activity in April 2018.

In accordance with the Charter, in order to determine the control procedures carried out by the Agency, the "Rules for control in the field of electricity and heat, as well as gas supply" were approved by Presidential Decree No. 204 of July 16, 2018.

The elaboration and implementation process of legal and institutional reforms required to support activities of the AERA is conducting in accordance with the international practice and experience of the leading countries of the world in the framework of the Project on Supporting of the Azerbaijan Energy Regulatory Agency. 

AERA has set up 11 regional offices across the country. Offices are located in Baku, Ganja, Sumgayit, Lankaran, Shirvan, Mingachevir, Shaki, Tovuz, Khachmaz, Kurdamir and Imishli.

AERA is an associative member of the Energy Regulators Regional Association (ERRA).